clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Stanford coach David Shaw named Pac-12 Coach of the Year

Five Stanford players were named to the Pac-12's first team, and only one Cal player earned the honors.


Stanford Cardinal coach David Shaw was named the Pac-12 Coach of the Year, and five Stanford players earned first-team honors, the conference announced on Monday.

It is the second straight year Shaw has won the award, and only the fourth time a Pac-12 coach has earned the award in consecutive seasons. Shaw led the Cardinal to a 10-2 record and a spot in the Pac-12 title game with the Rose Bowl on the line, all done in a year when the Oregon Ducks were expected to be sitting atop the Pac-12 North.

Stanford garnered five All-Pac-12 first team awards — tied with Oregon for the most. Tight end Zach Ertz and offensive lineman David Yankey earned spots on the first-team offense.

Linebackers Trent Murphy and Chase Thomas and defensive back Ed Reynolds all earned first-team defensive honors. Thomas was also a first-team selection at linebacker last year.

Cal had one lone first-team selection, with Vince D'Amato winning the honors at kicker. He was 30-for-33 on extra point attempts and 16-for-23 on field goals. His 16 field goals led the Pac-12.