clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

College Football Rankings 2011: Stanford Can Move Up If Florida Can Beat Alabama

Barring the miracle of miracles Saturday night in Palo Alto, the Stanford Cardinal should steamroll the UCLA Bruins. The big question is whether any of the teams ahead of them in the rankings are in danger of upset themselves?

9:21 AM PT/12:21 PM ET, SEC Network: Kentucky Wildcats at #1 LSU Tigers. The new top-ranked team in the country has just made it through a bruising September unscathed, so one should be prepared for the usual Les Miles hijinx now that the team has hit October. Probably not coming against Kentucky, who just got obliterated at home by Florida.

11:30 AM PT/2:30 PM ET, Versus: Nevada Wolf Pack at #4 Boise St. Broncos. Nothing to see here!

4 PM PT/7 PM ET, PPV: Ball St. Cardinals at #2 Oklahoma Sooners. Yeah, no. Oklahoma will be nice and undefeated for the Red River Shootout in Dallas against Texas.

5 PM PT/8 PM ET, CBS: #3 Alabama Crimson Tide at #15 Florida Gators. Here's where Stanford can make some progress, but Nick Saban has had Florida's number lately. Still, it's a pretty daunting task to beat the Gators in the Swamp, regardless of how good Alabama might be.

Actually, Stanford is most likely to move up in the AP Poll the same way they fell down from 5th to 6th--taking advantage of a team's bye week, in this case the Oklahoma St. Cowboys. Oklahoma State is coming off a strong win over Texas A&M though, so it might be harder to drop them unless Stanford really, really lays it down on UCLA. They aren't likely to move up the Coaches Poll unless Alabama trips up.

For more on Stanford football, go to Rule of Tree.