clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

College Football Rankings: Stanford Can Rise If Oklahoma State Stumbles Vs. Texas

The Stanford Cardinal will have one of their most intriguing tests of the season against the Washington St. Cougars in Pullman, but they should be able to get by if they play their game. The big question: Can they move up on the eve of the first BCS rankings?

There are a few notable matchups ahead of the seventh-ranked Cardinal, but only one or two seem to feature legitimate upset possibilties

9 AM PT/noon ET: Indiana Hoosiers at #4 Wisconsin Badgers, ESPN2. The Badgers mysteriously moved up after a bye week. They should stay where they are after supplying a good beating to the Hoosiers.

12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET: #1 LSU Tigers at Tennessee Volunteers, CBS. LSU nearly lost to Tennessee last season. This could be a close one again considering the homefield advantage in Rocky Top, although the Vols have yet to make a dramatic jump in play the way the Tigers have.

12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET: #6 Oklahoma St. Cowboys at #22 Texas Longhorns, ABC. Texas looked atrocious last week in a Red River beatdown. But they'll be back in Austin, so they should be able to play better, right?

3 PM PT/6 PM ET: #2 Alabama Crimson Tide at Mississippi Rebels, ESPN2. Yeah, like you really believe Nick Saban would ever lose to Houston Nutt in a game that mattered.

3 PM PT/6 PM ET: #5 Boise St. Broncos at Colorado St. Rams. Boise could beat whoever they want, but they will probably start dropping as the weakness of their strength of schedule catches up to them. Look for the bottom to start falling on Boise week-by-week.

6:15 PM PT/9:15 PM ET: #3 Oklahoma Sooners at Kansas Jayhawks. The question isn't whether Oklahoma will win, but whether they'll burn Lawrence to the ground when they're done.

To talk Stanford football, go to Rule of Tree.