clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2012 MLB All-Star Game: NL Lineup Announced, Matt Cain Officially Named Starter

As previously reported, the San Francisco Giants' Matt Cain will be the National League starter in the MLB All-Star Game, opposite the Detroit Tigers' Justin Verlander, according to various reports.

Cain has a 9-3 record with a 2.62 ERA and pitched a perfect game against the Houston Astros on June 13. Fellow San Francisco Giants - third baseman Pablo Sandoval, catcher Buster Posey and outfielder Melky Cabrera - are also starters for the NL. This is both Posey and Cabrera's first All-Star game and the third for Cain and Sandoval.

The National League batting order will be as follows:

1. Colorado Rockies DH Carlos Gonzalez

2. Giants CF Melky Cabrera

3. Milwaukee Brewers LF Ryan Braun

4. Cincinnati Reds 1B Joey Votto

5. St. Louis Cardinals RF Carlos Beltran

6. Giants C Buster Posey

7. Giants 3B Pablo Sandoval

8. Atlanta Braves 2B Dan Uggla

9. Cardinals SS Rafael Furcal

For more on the Giants, head over to McCovey Chronicles. For complete coverage of the All-Star Game and all things MLB, check out Baseball Nation.