clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Roy Halladay Wins 2010 NL Cy Young: Brian Wilson, Tim Lincecum, Matt Cain Receive Votes

Philadelphia Phillies pitcher Roy Halladay won the 2010 National League Cy Young Award in unanimous fashion today, claiming all 32 first place votes. This is Halladay’s second carer Cy Young award and it was not really in doubt this season. While pitching in hitter friendly Citizens Bank Park, Halladay led the NL in innings and wins, while finishing second in strikes and WHIP and third in ERA.

A day after Buster Posey was named 2010 NL Rookie of the year, the San Francisco Giants did manage to find some love in the Cy Young balloting. Closer Brian Wilson received a fourth place vote and five fifth place votes after leading the National League with 48 saves. Additionally, his 1.81 ERA was fifth best in the NL for anybody with at least 60 innings pitched.

Giants starters Tim Lincecum and Matt Cain also received votes. Lincecum received two 5th place votes, while Cain received a single 5th place vote. The two pitchers were key throughout the regular season and postseason in leading the Giants to their first World Series in San Francisco.