clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Pro Football Hall Of Fame 2012: Eddie DeBartolo Snubbed As 2013 Candidates Bring Some Heavy Hitters

The San Francisco 49ers missed out on having a pair of representative join the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 2012, as both Edward DeBartolo and Charles Haley were among the finalists who did not receive the necessary votes to be enshrined this year. In future years, the going may be tough for DeBartolo if former head coach and fellow snub Bill Parcells remains on the finalist ballot along with him. Non-players seldom get inducted in the same class.

That is assuming DeBartolo will make the group of finalists next year in what is sure to be a stacked class. 2013 will see a new crop of eligibles for the Hall of Fame. These include Larry Allen, Morten Andersen, Priest Holmes, Steve McNair, Jonathan Ogden, Warren Sapp, Michael Strahan and Bryant Young.

Guard Larry Allen played the bulk of his career with the Dallas Cowboys, but finished it with the 49ers in 2006 and 2007.

Warren Sapp is arguably one of the most famous defensive tackles of all time. He finished his career with four seasons on the Oakland Raiders from 2004-2007.

Bryant Young, of course, is well-known to Niners fans. He was selected in the first round of the 1994 NFL Draft as the seventh overall pick. He played his entire career in San Francisco at defensive tackle from 1994-2007. He was a four-time Pro Bowl selection and a four-time All-Pro selection, also being named to the 1990s All-Decade Team.

And of course, Roger Craig will also be in the running again next year, after failing to make the list of finalists for the 2012 class.

For any further updates on the Hall of Fame class of 2012, stay tuned to this StoryStream or visit SB Nation's dedicated NFL hub. For all news and information regarding the San Francisco 49ers, please visit Niners Nation.