clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

49ers Fans To Vote For One Inductee Into Edward J. DeBartolo Sr. Hall Of Fame

In both professional and collegiate sports, teams and schools put together honorary Hall of Fames to recognize some of the great names in history. While these Halls of Fame might not reach the level of the Pro Football Hall of Fame or the Baseball Hall of Fame, they are honors nonetheless, and an excellent way to recognize greatness.

The San Francisco 49ers have a team hall of fame they've titled the Edward J. DeBartolo Sr. 49ers Hall of Fame. The Hall was established in 2009 and dedicated to DeBartolo who was the patriarch of the 49ers franchise. It was DeBartolo Sr. who bought the franchise and placed his son Edward DeBartolo Jr. in charge of the operations. Five Super Bowls later, it's safe to say the decision worked out pretty well.

This year the 49ers are inducting their third class into the team's Hall of Fame, but they've made a change in their process for enshrining individuals. There are three finalists for induction and this year the 49ers have created a fan vote for one of the three. The 49ers describe it in more detail in the video below.

This year's fan vote will consider RB Roger Craig, coach George Seifert, and pass catching end and kicker Gordy Soltau. I've got to think Craig will run away with this vote, but maybe we'll see a surprise. You can vote for your selection on

Who will you be voting for between Craig, Seifert and Soltau?