clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Baseball Hall Of Fame Results 2012: Mark McGwire Receives 19.5% Of Vote

The National Baseball Hall of Fame released their 2012 selection results and long-time Cincinnati Reds shortstop Barry Larkin was elected with 86.4% of the vote. Larkin was the only candidate to achieve the minimum 75% required for election. Jack Morris increased his vote total from 53.5% to 66.7% but faces an intriguing challenge in 2013 when Barry Bonds, Roger Clemens and other notable players are on the ballot. Jeff Bagwell and Lee Smith also surpassed the 50% mark this season.

Former Oakland Athletics slugger Mark McGwire saw his percentage decrease for the second straight season as he appeared on 19.5% of the ballots with 112 votes. In 2011 he got 19.8% of the vote an in 2010 he got a personal high of 23.7% of the vote. At this point, it seems highly unlikely that he will get voted into the Hall by the BBWAA. He could very well get in down the road with the Veterans' Committee, but it could very well depend on how the PED issue develops in the coming years.