clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Oakland Athletics vs. Seattle Mariners, MLB Schedule: Kurt Suzuki Back In A's Lineup

The Oakland Athletics will send out Brett Anderson and their same batting order from last night as they look to get their first win of the 2011 MLB regular season. There was some concern about catcher Kurt Suzuki after his violent collision at home plate with Miguel Olivo in the top of the seventh inning. Suzuki left the game, but was eventually diagnosed with merely a mild ankle sprain. He’s back in the lineup today hitting in the six spot.

Josh Willingham got his Oakland A’s career off to a solid start with a first inning home run off of Felix Hernandez. The A’s received one hit from five different players last night, but had no multi-hit games. The A’s will face Jason Vargas tonight and will look to get some offense together. Vargas had a solid 2010 campaign, finishing the season 9-12 with a 3.78 ERA and 1.25 WHIP in 31 starts. Of course, in two starts against the A’s, Vargas was 1-1 with a 6.10 ERA. We’ll see if the A’s can jump on him early tonight.

Oakland A’s Lineup

1. CF Coco Crisp
2. 1B Daric Barton
3. RF David DeJesus
4. LF Josh Willingham
5. DH Hideki Matsui
6. C Kurt Suzuki
7. 2B Mark Ellis
8. 3B Kevin Kouzmanoff
9. SS Cliff Pennington

Seattle Mariners Lineup

1. RF Ichiro Suzuki
2. 3B Chone Figgins
3. LF Milton Bradley
4. DH Jack Cust
5. 1B Justin Smoak
6. SS Brendan Ryan
7. 2B Jack Wilson
8. CF Michael Saunders
9. C Adam Moore

For more discussion and analysis of everything A’s, head over to Athletics Nation.