clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Warriors Vs. Pacers: NBA Acknowledges Missed Kick Ball Violation

With the game tied at 91, The Golden State Warriors once again turned to Monta Ellis to take a last second shot against the Indiana Pacers, but instead got robbed on a missed call by the referees, which the NBA admitted on Saturday they blew the call that sealed the W’s fate at Oracle Friday night.

Here is their official statement about the play:

“With 5.4 seconds remaining in the Indiana-Golden State game on Jan. 20, Pacers guard George Hill intentionally kicked the ball away from Warriors guard Monta Ellis during his cross over dribble. According to rule no. 10, Section IV.b, kicking the ball or striking it with any part of the leg is a violation when it is an intentional act. The officials missed the kicked ball violation which should have resulted in a deadball situation and Golden State inbounding the ball on the sideline nearest the spot of the violation."

Doesn’t do the W’s much good now, but at least the NBA recognized they made a mistake.

For more on the W’s head over to Golden State of Mind.