clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Jeff Tedford Reprimanded By Pac-12 For Criticizing Officials, Sent To Timeout Without Dinner

In the third quarter of the Pac-12 game that wasn't a Pac-12 game, the California Golden Bears were holding a comfortable 23-13 lead over the Colorado Buffaloes. And it looked like Cal was about to get the ball back after a huge 3rd down stick by linebacker Mychal Kendricks on running back Rodney Stewart to try and close things up. 

↵

But then Cal defensive end Trevor Guyton put a late hit in on Stewart when the whistle blew late. You can watch the video here and see that Guyton made a hit that was made RIGHT when the whistle occurred.  Tedford later said the officiating on the play was terrible, and the referee later admitted he made a mistake on the play.

↵

But the Pac-12 doesn't seem to take lightly criticism of their referees, and Tedford was reprimanded for doing so. He technically had violated an official Pac-12 rule that doesn't allow coaches to publicly criticize officials. It's a strange punishment to hand down after it was clear the officials had admitted they were wrong.

↵

For more on the Bears, head to the California Golden Blogs.

↵