clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2011 NIT Basketball Tournament Bracket Update: Colorado-Alabama, Washington State-Wichita State Semifinals Matchups

The setup for the "Final Four" of the NIT Tournament is set. Madison Square Garden will play host to four teams next week, the winner of whom will be crowned NIT champion. Let's take a look at each of the matchups.

Monday, March 29

Semifinal #1

Wichita St. Shockers vs. Washington St. Cougars, 4 PM PT/7 PM ET, ESPN2 (TV) or ESPN3.com (online)

Prediction: The miracle run of Wichita State to the finals should continue, as they are a superior all-around team. Washington State could make it close if they can bury their threes, but the Shockers should control the boards and manage things reasonably well in the paint.

Semifinal #2

Alabama Crimson Tide vs. Colorado Buffaloes, 6 PM PT/9 PM ET, ESPN2 (TV) or ESPN3.com (online)

Prediction: It's the ultimate of great offense vs. great defense. Can Colorado's super efficient shooting handle Alabama's strong interior frontline? The Tide will be in trouble if they fall behind early, but otherwise I like Alabama in a close, low-scoring, slow-paced game.

Wednesday, March 31

Predicted Final: Alabama vs. Wichita State, 4 PM PT/7 PM ET, ESPN2 (TV) or ESPN3.com (online)

Prediction: Wichita State is the most well-rounded team left in the tournament. They should be able to finish the improbable run from Missouri Valley Conference Champions (but knocked out of their NCAA tournament run by Indiana State in the MVC tournament) and be crowned kings of the NIT.