clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

NCAA 2011 Bracket: First Four Schedule In Dayton Features USC Trojans Playing VCU Rams

The Pac-10 brought four teams, one of them making it despite being precariously placed on the bubble mere hours ago. Still, that team's road is far from easy. The USC Trojans will have to play in the first round of the NCAA basketball tournament to get into the regular field of 64, placing them in a matchup with the VCU Rams, who were a big surprise to even make the 68-team bracket altogether. VCU is ranked 85th in Pomeroy, and their biggest resume win is a victory over George Mason in the CAA tournament. The only thing they can share in common with USC is they've both beaten UCLA this year.

Here is the schedule for the First Four teams in the first round of the 2011 NCAA tournament.

All the games are in Dayton Arena in Dayton, Ohio and on TruTV.

Tuesday, March 15th: UNC Asheville plays University of Arkansas Little Rock at 6:30 PM ET/3:30 PM PT. The winner takes on the Pittsburgh Panthers on Thursday.
Tuesday, March 15th: UAB plays Clemson at 9 PM ET/6 PM PT. The winner takes on the West Virginia Mountaineers on Thursday.

Announcers for the Tuesday games are Jim Nantz, Clark Kellogg, and Steve Kerr, with Tracy Wolfson as the sideline reporter. This is also the eventual crew for the Final Four in Houston.

Wednesday, March 16th: University of Texas-San Antonio plays Alabama State at 6:30 PM ET/3:30 PM PT. The winner takes on the Ohio St. Buckeyes on Friday.
Wednesday, March 16th: USC plays VCU at 9 PM ET/6 PM PT. The winner takes on the Georgetown Hoyas on Friday.

Announcers for the Wednesday games are Gus Johnson and Len Elmore, with Craig Sager as the sideline reporter.