clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2013 Pro Football Hall of Fame class: Warren Sapp, Larry Allen inducted

The 2013 Pro Football Hall of Fame class of 2013 inductees have been announced. Warren Sapp and Larry Allen, both with Bay Area ties, were inducted.


The San Francisco Bay Area was well represented when the initial 2013 Pro Football Hall of Fame candidates were announced. However, after the candidates were cut to 17 then down to 10 before the five inductees were announced, there was only Larry Allen and Warren Sapp left.

For more on the 49ers, visit Niners Nation

Allen only played his final two seasons with the 49ers after playing his first 11 with the Cowboys. While playing for the Niners, he started at left guard for 11 games in '06 and all 16 games in '07 and was voted into the Pro Bowl both years, though he was an alternate in '07. Through his career he was an 11-time Pro Bowler, a seven-time All-Pro, was named to the 1990s All-Decade Team as well as the 2000s All-Decade Team and was a member of the Cowboys team that won Super Bowl XXX.

Like Allen, Sapp made a name for himself for another team, but he did play for the Raiders from 2004 through 2007. While with the Raiders, he started all 16 games in '04, recording 30 tackles and 2.5 sacks. In '05 he racked up 29 tackles and five sacks in the first 10 games before being placed on IR with a shoulder injury. In '06 he racked up 10 sacks and 32 tackles and forced a fumble and then in '07 he added two more sacks and 37 more tackles. He announced his retirement before the '08 season.

The fact that Allen and Sapp were the only two players with ties to the San Francisco Bay Area to be inducted into the Hall of Fame from the class of 2013, means that former Niners owner Edward DeBartolo Jr. didn't make the cut. Neither did Tim Brown, Kevin Greene nor Charles Haley.

Other than Sapp and Allen, Curley Culp, Dave Robinson, Bill Parcells, Jonathan Ogden and Cris Carter were inducted.