clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Sharks Send 16 Players To AHL Affiliate In Wake Of Lockout

The San Jose Sharks announced they have assigned 16 players to the Worcester Sharks of the American Hockey League Monday, according to team sources.

Forwards Curt Gogol, Freddie Hamilton, Bracken Kearns, James Livingston, Jon Matsumoto, Travis Oleksuk, Brodie Reid and Sebastian Stalberg were sent down along with defensemen Sena Acolatse, Danny Groulx, Taylor Doherty, Matt Irwin and Matt Tennyson plus goaltenders Thomas Heemskerk, Harri Sateri and Alex Stalock.

A good majority of these players would be set to take part in San Jose's training camp beginning this Friday but plans have obviously changed due to the NHL being in lockout mode.

Worcester's season will begin on Oct. 12. with most of these players in tow if a new collective bargaining agreement is not settled on. The team has addressed the fans on the status of the lockout situation in an open letter which can be found here.

For more San Jose Sharks news, head on over to Fear the Fin. And for continued NHL lockout updates, stay plugged into SB Nation's dedicated NHL hub.