clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

PGA Championship 2012: Rory McIlroy Wins By Largest Margin In History

Rory McIlroy won the 2012 PGA Championship by a record eight strokes, breaking Jack Nicklaus' record of nearly 30 years. He shot a -6 on Sunday in the fourth and final round, improving his score to -13 for the event. The win marks the second major championship of McIlroy's career, and it only helped cement his status as the No. 1 golfer in the world.

David Lynn finished in second place at -5. Justin Rose, Keegan Bradley, Ian Poulter and Carl Pettersson tied for third place at -4.

Tiger Woods shot an even par-72 in the fourth round to keep him at -2 for the Championship. He finished in a tie for 11th place. His wait to claim that elusive major championship will continue into 2013, and you have to wonder if Tiger will ever get it done.

Phil Mickelson finished tied for 36th while shooting a +3 overall. He shot two-over on Sunday, missing on numerous putting chances early.

The full leaderboard can be found here.

For more on the PGA championship and golf in general, make sure to check out SB Nation's dedicated golf hub.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube