clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Giro d'Italia 2012 Stage 16: Stage Preview, Television Information, How To Watch Online And More

Stage 16 of the 2012 Giro d'Italia is 174 rolling kilometers between Limone sul Garda and Falzes/Pfalzen. It's listed as a medium mountain stage, but a look at the profile reveals that this isn't a stage with the kind of climbs likely to see big attacks. Desperate riders who should be higher in the GC standings than they are might try something, but the peloton will likely be able to reel them in.

Tappa_dettagli_tecnici_altimetria_16_medium

via images2.gazzettaobjects.it

With a roleur style stage like that, teams that haven't yet show much at the Giro may take advantage and send their riders out in a breakaway. Stealing a stage victory from the peloton is an accomplishment for any rider, and any team is happy to see their rider (and their sponsor) out in front all day. Santa Rosa's Team BMC has Manuel Quinziato, an Italian who hails from the area the stage travels through. What better place to jump off the front and try for a stage win?

Start Time: 1:00pm CET (7:00am EDT, 4:00am PDT)

Television Coverage: Universal Sports Network starting at 9:30am EDT (6:30am PDT)

Streaming Online: Streaming Via Universal Sports Network

Stick with this storystream for previews, results and more from the 2012 Giro d'Italia. As always, SB Nation's cycling blog Podium Cafe is your source for full-time cycling news and analysis.