clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Giro d'Italia 2012 Stage 10: Stage Preview, TV Coverage, How To Watch Online And More

Stage 10 of the 2012 Giro d'Italia is another medium mountains stage, but it won't likely have as much impact as the previous medium mountains. There are a lot of little climbs and an uphill finish, but none of them are likely long enough to see an attacker put serious time gaps on his rivals.

Tappa_dettagli_tecnici_altimetria_10_medium

via images2.gazzettaobjects.it

Still, 186 kilometers of rolling terrain means a lot of opportunities for something unexpected. Serious time gaps are unlikely, but Katusha's Joaquin Rodriguez is only nine seconds behind Garmin-Barracuda's Ryder Hesjedal. The weather looks to be clear and Hesjedal is unlikely to be caught napping, but with so many climbs comes so many descents, and there's always risk of a crash. The Giro has seen one successful breakaway this year, on a stage with a very similar profile to Tuesday's ride, so some of the more daring younger riders may take a shot at glory. The Italians in the race have been particularly aggressive off the front, for obvious reasons.

Stage 10 starts at 12:35pm CET (6:35am EDT, 3:35am PDT). Universal Sports Network will have coverage beginning at 9:30am EDT (6:30am PDT), as well as coverage streaming online.

SB Nation Bay Area will continue to bring you previews, updates, standings and more from the 2012 Giro d'Italia. As always, Podium Cafe has all the insight and analysis you need.