clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Daytona 500 2012: Starting Lineup

The 2012 Daytona 500 is finally and at hand, and if the weather can hold off for a few hours, we could have one heck of a race on Sunday. Carl Edwards holds pole position while Greg Biffle will join him on the front line of the race. The Bay Area is represented by Los Gatos-native A.J. Allmendinger in the No. 15 position and Vallejo-born Jeff Gordon next to him in the No. 16 position.

Allmendinger is aiming for his first career NASCAR victory. He finished 11th at last year's Daytona 500 and a career best third in the 2009 Daytona 500. Gordon is looking for his fourth Daytona 500 victory and career win No. 86. He finished 28th in last year's Daytona 500 following a day filled with big-name crashes. Prior to that he had a pair of top ten finishes, and lost won at Daytona in 2005.

Here is a breakdown of the entire starting grid for the 2012 Daytona 500:

  1. Carl Edwards
  2. Greg Biffle
  3. Tony Stewart
  4. Matt Kenseth
  5. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  6. Regan Smith
  7. Marcos Ambrose
  8. Jimmie Johnson
  9. Jeff Burton
  10. Elliott Sadler
  11. Michael McDowell
  12. Joey Logano
  13. Kevin Harvick
  14. Kyle Busch
  15. AJ Allmendinger
  16. Jeff Gordon
  17. Robby Gordon
  18. Ryan Newman
  19. Jamie McMurray
  20. Kasey Kahne
  21. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  22. Mark Martin
  23. Brad Keselowski
  24. Dave Blaney
  25. David Ragan
  26. Martin Truex Jr.
  27. Aric Almirola
  28. Kurt Busch
  29. Danica Patrick
  30. Clint Bowyer
  31. Denny Hamlin
  32. Bobby Labonte
  33. David Gilliland
  34. Joe Nemechek
  35. Juan Pablo Montoya
  36. Casey Mears
  37. Paul Menard
  38. David Reutimann
  39. Landon Cassill
  40. Trevor Bayne
  41. Tony Raines
  42. David Stremme
  43. Terry Labonte