clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Daytona 500 2012: Starting Lineup Features Jeff Gordon, A.J. Allmendinger Side-By-Side

The 2012 Daytona 500 lineup is officially set as qualifying and the Gatorade Duels determined the 43-car order. Carl Edwards claimed the pole and Greg Biffle claimed spot number two in last weekend's qualifying, while the remaining 41 spots were determined during Thursday's Gatorade Duels. Tony Stewart and Matt Kenseth won the two duels to claim spots three and four.

Los Gatos-resident A.J. Allmendinger and Vallejo-born Jeff Gordon finished in eighth place in their respective Duels, which means they will start the race side-by-side in the No. 15 and No. 16 positions, respectively. This is the second straight year Allmendinger will start in the No. 15 spot at Daytona. Gordon started last year's race second to Dale Earnhardt, Jr.

Here is the starting lineup for the 2012 Daytona 500:

  1. Carl Edwards
  2. Greg Biffle
  3. Tony Stewart
  4. Matt Kenseth
  5. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  6. Regan Smith
  7. Marcos Ambrose
  8. Jimmie Johnson
  9. Jeff Burton
  10. Elliott Sadler
  11. Michael McDowell
  12. Joey Logano
  13. Kevin Harvick
  14. Kyle Busch
  15. AJ Allmendinger
  16. Jeff Gordon
  17. Robby Gordon
  18. Ryan Newman
  19. Jamie McMurray
  20. Kasey Kahne
  21. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  22. Mark Martin
  23. Brad Keselowski
  24. Dave Blaney
  25. David Ragan
  26. Martin Truex Jr.
  27. Aric Almirola
  28. Kurt Busch
  29. Danica Patrick
  30. Clint Bowyer
  31. Denny Hamlin
  32. Bobby Labonte
  33. David Gilliland
  34. Joe Nemechek
  35. Juan Pablo Montoya
  36. Casey Mears
  37. Paul Menard
  38. David Reutimann
  39. Landon Cassill
  40. Trevor Bayne
  41. David Stremme
  42. Tony Raines
  43. Terry Labonte

The 2012 Daytona 500 gets going at 9:00 a.m. PT on FOX. You can learn plenty more about the race at SB Nation NASCAR's Daytona 500 stream. Head to NASCAR Ranting and Raving for more in-depth discussion.