clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

2011 Tour De France, Stage 19 Results: Andy Schleck Captures Yellow Jersey

If you buy something from an SB Nation link, Vox Media may earn a commission. See our ethics statement.

The 2011 Tour de France wrapped up its run through the Alps with a spirited finish that saw Frenchman Pierre Rolland capture the stage victory while Andy Schleck overtook Thomas Voeckler to capture the yellow jersey. Alberto Contador attempted to make an early attack to make a significant dent in the overall lead. He did finish third in the stage ahead of the Schlecker brothers, Cadel Evans and Thomas Voeckler, but it wasn't enough to climb back into the Tour.

In what was the shortest non-time trial or Champs Elysees stage of the Tour, Thomas Voeckler finally ran out of gas and surrendered the yellow jersey. Andy Schleck, Frank Schleck and Cadel Evans were bouncing back and forth in their small chase group behind the front runners, but they were able to make up sufficient ground over the final climb to narrow the gap.

Evans actually had some mechanical difficulties early on that dropped him 1:50 back at one point as he had to change bikes. However, he used the Galiber climb and subsequent descent to speed his way back towards the front of the pack. While Contador moved ahead of the Schleck brothers, Evans joined them in the final charge for the finish line. At the end, Evans finished just ahead of them but it was ruled a virtual tie.

Following the conclusion of the run through the Alps, Andy Schleck holds the yellow jersey with his brother Frank in second and Cadel Evans in third heading into Saturday's individual time trial.

Stnd Rider Rider # Team Time Gaps
1. SCHLECK Andy 11 TEAM LEOPARD-TREK 82h 48' 43"  
2. SCHLECK Frank 18 TEAM LEOPARD-TREK 82h 49' 36" + 00' 53"
3. EVANS Cadel 141 BMC RACING TEAM 82h 49' 40" + 00' 57"
4. VOECKLER Thomas 181 TEAM EUROPCAR 82h 50' 53" + 02' 10"
5. CUNEGO Damiano 161 LAMPRE - ISD 82h 52' 14" + 03' 31"
6. CONTADOR Alberto 1 SAXO BANK SUNGARD 82h 52' 38" + 03' 55"
7. SANCHEZ Samuel 21 EUSKALTEL - EUSKADI 82h 53' 05" + 04' 22"
8. BASSO Ivan 91 LIQUIGAS-CANNONDALE 82h 53' 23" + 04' 40"
9. DANIELSON Tom 52 TEAM GARMIN - CERVELO 82h 55' 54" + 07' 11"
10. ROLLAND Pierre 188 TEAM EUROPCAR 82h 57' 40" + 08' 57"

We'll be here for the entire race providing news updates and stage previews and recaps, particularly as they relate to Bay Area-based BMC Racing. For more in-depth discussion on the 2011 Tour De France, head over to Podium Cafe. For more general Tour coverage, head over to the SB Nation story stream.