clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

College Rugby Sevens 2011 Championship Schedule: Cal Rematch With Utah

Cal will get an early chance at redemption in the Collegitae Rugby 7s Championships. The team they lost the title to in 2010, the Utah Utes, will be their first test on Sunday morning.

Last season, Utah proved they were the better squad at 7s; they had the best athlete on either side in two-way athlete Thretton Palamo, and he dominated the game on both sides to give the Utes a 31-26 overtime victory. Utah isn't as strong a side this season though (no Palamo), but they do have Don Pati, who is perhaps the best scrumhalf in the nation. Pati will have to square off with potential future Olympian Dustin Muhn though, so there'll be no unreal advantage that the Utes enjoyed like they did with Palamo.

Nevertheless, it could be another close contest. The game will not be televised, so you'll have to follow Cal Rugby Scoring on Twitter to get the results live!

Quarterfinals schedule (not televised, probably taped on Universal Sports)
Cal (Group A winner) vs. Utah (Group B runner-up), 7:19 AM PT/10:19 AM ET
Dartmouth (Group B winner) vs Penn State (Group A runner-up), 7:41 AM PT/10:41 AM ET
Army (Group C winner) vs Texas (Group D runner-up), 8:03 AM PT/11:03 AM ET
Arizona (Group D winner) vs Central Washington (Group C runner-up), 8:25 AM PT/11:25 AM ET

Semifinals schedule (Versus)
Cal-Utah winner vs. Army-Texas winner, 11:05 AM PT/2:05 PM ET
Penn State-Dartmouth winner vs. Arizona-Central Washington winner,11:30 AM PT/2:30 PM ET 

Finals schedule (NBC)
Bronze medal game: 1:40 PM PT/4:40 PM ET
Championship game: 2:20 PM PT/5:20 PM ET

Who do you think will win it all? Let us know in the comments!