clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2011 College World Series Tuesday Schedule: Cal Needs Win To Stay Alive Against Texas A&M

The College World Series second bracket begins Round 2 of action on Tuesday afternoon. Here's the two games taking place today:

Loser's Bracket: California Golden Bears vs. Texas A&M, 2 PM ET/11 AM PT, ESPN/ESPN3.com. Loser goes home. Winner moves on.

Winner's Bracket: Virginia vs. South Carolina. Loser faces Cal-Texas A&M winner, 7 PM ET/4 PM PT, ESPN/ESPN3.com. Winner plays overall winner of Loser's Bracket.

Virginia figures to be the strong favorites to advance to the Winner's Bracket. Michael Roth already pitched a near-complete game on Saturday, so Carolina will have to ride one of their secondary starters and their deep bullpen to keep even with the Cavaliers. Top-ranked Virginia has proven themselves to be mortal (they haven't exactly dominated all their wins), but they've been able to pull out most of their victories, and they have the best pitching in the nation. Always got to like good pitching, and Virginia will try and ride Tyler Wilson to put themselves one victory away from the title round.

Cal must survive, and it's unclear who they're going to put out there to pitch with the injury to Justin Jones. A&M will be throwing Michael Wacha out there, and he might be the best pitcher the Aggies have. Tough task for Cal to deal with both Danny Hultzen and Wacha in consecutive World Series games.