clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

NCAA Women's Softball Super Regional 2011 Schedule: California Travels To Kentucky In Best Of Three Series

The 2011 NCAA women's softball tournament continues its run towards the Women's College World Series Saturday May 28 as the California Golden Bears travel to face the Kentucky Wildcats in the Lexington Super Regional. The two teams will battle in a best-of-three series Saturday and Sunday, with the winner advancing into the eight-team Women's College World Series beginning June 2.

Cal enters this super regional series as the higher seed but still has to travel to Kentucky to do battle with the Wildcats. While home games might be preferable, the Bears are a solid road team, finishing the season 31-7 on the road after playing their entire non-conference schedule away from Levine-Fricke Field. The Bears are in the midst of a lengthy hot streak, winning 18 of their last 20 games entering this weekend's series.

The schedule for this best of three series has game one Saturday at 9:00am pacific on ESPNU. Game two is scheduled for Sunday at 10:00am pacific on ESPN. If the teams split those two games, a deciding game three will be Sunday afternoon at approximately 12:30pm pacific, also on ESPN. Here is a rundown of information with some pertinent calbears.com links.

Saturday, May 28
Noon ET/9 a.m. PT - Game One: Kentucky (39-14) vs. California (42-10) 
Coverage: ESPNU HD/ESPN3.com, Live ChatTwitter

Sunday, May 29
1 p.m. ET/10 a.m. PT - Game Two: California (42-10) vs. Kentucky (39-14) 
Coverage: ESPN HD/ESPN3.com, Live ChatTwitter

3:30 p.m. ET/12:30 p.m. PT - Game Three (if necessary): California (42-10) vs. Kentucky (39-14) 
Coverage: ESPN HD/ESPN3.com, Twitter

As Cal gets ready for Saturday's opening game, CalBears.com has provided a rundown of probable starters:

P: #52 Jolene Henderson
C: #17 Lindsey Ziegenhirt
1B: #2 Jordan Wallace
2B: #10 Victoria Jones
3B: #7 Jace Williams
SS: #18 Britt Vonk
LF: #3 Jamia Reid
CF: #1 Frani Echavarria
RF: #5 Elia Reid
DP: #23 Ashley Decker