clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tour of California 2011, Final Results: Peter Sagan, Jonathan Patrick McCarty Take Home Jerseys

Chris Horner completed a strong ride this past weekend to claim the 2011 Amgen Tour of California Overall Yellow Jersey. After taking control in the fourth stage, his victory was never really in much doubt. However, other riders took home jerseys for their performance in specific areas of the race. The jerseys awarded included the Herbalife Sprint Points Jersey, the California Travel & Tourism King of the Mountains (KOM) Jersey, and the Rabobank Best Young Rider Jersey. Below two of the listed winners are a collection of quotations following the conclusion of the race.

The Herbalife Sprint Points Jersey was awarded to Peter Sagan of Liquigas-Cannondale. Sagan won the jersey because of his performance in the various sprints of the race. Riders were awarded points based on pre-designated sprints along the way, and also top-15 finishes in the various stages.

On the race overall
"I am very happy to have been able to participate in this race and the team is very satisfied.

On Stage 8 of the 2011 Amgen Tour of California
"The circuit today was dangerous because everyone wanted to be up front and the pace set by HTC-Highroad and Sky Procyling was very fast. I had to re-launch my sprint and just ran out of room towards the end."

The California Travel & Tourism King of the Mountains (KOM) Jersey was awarded to Jonathan Patrick McCarty of Team Spidertech Powered by C10. McCarty won the jersey by collecting points on the designated KOM climbs. McCarty actually held onto the jersey for the entire race as he finished with the most points in each stage of the race.

On the race overall
"The Amgen Tour of California is such a great race. There were so many fans. To get the climbers jersey is a big deal for me and for the team. I am really happy to do this for them."

The Rabobank Best Young Rider Jersey was awarded to Tejay Van Garderen. He won the jersey by having the lowest overall time for any rider under the age of 24. Van Garderen ran away with this jersey, finishing 5:58 ahead of the next best rider, Andrew Talansky.