clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Santa Clara Broncos Win 2011 CIT Championship, Defeating Iona Gaels 76-69

The Santa Clara Broncos capped off a solid bounce back season, finishing 24-14 and winning the 2011 Postseason Tournament. This was Santa Clara’s first ever postseason, non-conference tournament championship.

The 2011 CIT champions defeated the Iona Gaels 76-69 as they completed a veritable 180 degree turn from last season. The Broncos were 11-21 (3-11) last season but turned it around under fourth-year head coach Kerry Keating, finishing 24-14 (8-6).

The Broncos were once again led in scoring by sophomore guard Kevin Foster. However, Foster only scored 16 points as the Broncos put together a total team effort in the victory. They received double digit points from five players including Foster, Ben Dowdell (14 points), Marc Trasolini (12), Ray Cowels (11) and Michael Santos (10). Additionally, they received at least six rebounds from four different players.

Kevin Foster was named the tournament’s MVP as he averaged 25.4 points per game, with the last three wins coming on the road. The Broncos march through the tournament netted three all-tournament players including Foster, Troy Payne and Marc Trasolini.