So, just like the controversial Texas-Arizona finish, another officiating decision regarding inbounding rules seemed to have a huge impact on the conclusion of the Marquette Eagles vs. Syracuse Orange finish. Dion Waiters threw an inbounds pass back to halfcourt to Scoop Jardine. Jardine tip-toed the line when he caught it, and the official closest to the ball called him for an over-and-back violation.
Well, that was a bad call by the refs. Both Ken Pomeroy and John Gasaway of Basketball Prospectus pointed out that it is legal to actually catch the ball on the inbounds with only one foot when you haven't established yourself in the frontcourt.
So bad officiating decision. Syracuse got hosed.
Well, except for one thing. Jardine travelled. Check out the replays of the call.
Syracuse Loses on Blown Over and Back Call (via Vcize)
NCAA traveling rules are stated as follows when a player is catching the ball on the move (you can download the rulebook by clicking here, traveling rules are on page 86).
Art. 3. A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling may stop and
establish a pivot foot as follows:
a. When both feet are off the playing court and the player lands:
1. Simultaneously on both feet, either may be the pivot foot;
2. On one foot followed by the other, the first foot to touch shall be the
3. On one foot, the player may jump off that foot and simultaneously
land on both; neither foot can be the pivot foot.
Jardine caught the ball in the air, landed on his right foot, making it the pivot. Then he landed on his left foot and moved his right foot. Traveling. The result is the same as before, Syracuse turnover.
So the NCAA officials technically got a call right (a turnover by Syracuse) for all the wrong reasons (over and back, which did not happen, but traveling, which DID happen). Based on all the things that have happened this weekend in the tournament, I get a feeling the refs slept peacefully tonight.