clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

March Madness Sweet 16 TV Schedule & Announcers: Reggie Miller To Join Gus Johnson

As much as I enjoyed Reggie Miller on the court, I cannot stand him on TV, particularly calling the NBA. He is slow and halting, generally seems to like to talk down about players on the court, and worst of all (the criminal sin of an analyst), he talks over his play-by-play man. Reggie Miller's like that hanger-on at the party who whines and moans to you about not getting his drinks or the bad music the DJ is spinning, and by ninety minutes you want to strangle him unconscious and lock him in the closet.

So you can imagine my dismay when I found out he was teamed up with the excellent Gus Johnson/Len Elmore combo for the Sweet 16/Elite 8 action. Everything good about March Madness teamed up with everything bad. It's like they're trying to find a way to increase Gus's degree of difficulty on these broadcasts. If Johnson can make Miller get into it though, maybe this will all be worth it.

Seriously, HOW DOES REGGIE KEEP ON GETTING MORE GIGS?

Anyway, here are your announcer pairings, TV schedules and previews courtesy of the Turner Newsroom. You can also watch March Madness online on MMOD.

Thursday, March 24

Anaheim, West Regional
#2 San Diego St. Aztecs vs. #3 Connecticut Huskies, 4:15 PM PT/7:15 PM ET on CBS

Announcers: Verne Lundquist, Bill Raftery, Lesley Visser (sideline)
SB Nation Bay Area early preview: Click here

New Orleans, Southwest Regional
#2 Florida Gators vs. #3 BYU Cougars, 4:27 PM PT/7:27 PM ET on TBS

Announcers: Gus Johnson, Len Elmore, Reggie Miller, Marty Snider (sideline)
SB Nation Bay Area early preview: Click here

Anaheim, West Regional
#1 Duke Blue Devils vs. #5 Arizona Wildcats, 6:45 PM PT/9:45 PM ET on CBS

Announcers: Verne Lundquist, Bill Raftery, Lesley Visser (sideline)
SB Nation Bay Area early preview: Click here

New Orleans, Southwest Regional
#4 Wisconsin Badgers vs. #8 Butler Bulldogs, 6:57 PM PT/9:57 PM ET on TBS
Announcers: Gus Johnson, Len Elmore, Reggie Miller, Marty Snider (sideline)
SB Nation Bay Area early preview: Click here

Friday, March 25
Newark, East Regional
#2 North Carolina Tar Heels vs. #11 Marquette Golden Eagles
, 4:15 PM PT/7:15 PM ET on CBS
Announcers: Jim Nantz, Clark Kellogg, Tracy Wolfson (sideline)
SB Nation Bay Area early preview: Click here

San Antonio, Southwest Regional
#1 Kansas Jayhawks vs. #12 Richmond Spiders, 4:27 PM PT/7:27 PM ET on TBS
Announcers: Marv Albert, Steve Kerr, Craig Sager (sideline)
SB Nation Bay Area early preview: Click here

Newark, East Regional
#1 Ohio St. Buckeyes vs. #4 Kentucky Wildcats
, 6:45 PM PT/9:45 PM ET on CBS
Announcers: Jim Nantz, Clark Kellogg, Tracy Wolfson (sideline)
SB Nation Bay Area early preview: Click here

San Antonio, Southwest Regional
#10 Florida St. Seminoles. #11 Va. Commonwealth Rams, 6:57 PM PT/9:57 PM ET on TBS
Announcers: Marv Albert, Steve Kerr, Craig Sager (sideline)
SB Nation Bay Area early preview: Click here