College Football Rankings 2011: Stanford Could Climb If LSU, Oklahoma Stumble

The Stanford Cardinal are stuck at seventh in the AP Poll and fourth in the USA/Coaches rankings this week, but they could move up this week if they get the right upsets to go their way and they take care of business against Colorado. There's two potential games that could roll their way and give Stanford the opening they need.

Friday, October 7

6 PM PT/9 PM ET: #5 Boise St. Broncos at Fresno St. Bulldogs, ESPN. Fresno State has been plucky this season, showing their mettle against opponents like Cal, Nebraska and Ole Miss, but they went 0-3 in those contests. Can they score an upset at home against what figures to be their fiercest opponent this season?

Saturday, October 8

9 AM PT/12 PM ET: #3 Oklahoma Sooners vs. #11 Texas Longhorns in Dallas, ABC. Oklahoma will face probably their fiercest test before their season finale against Oklahoma State in their regular battle in the Cotton Bowl. Can the Longhorns score a huge upset and move into top position for the Big 12 title, and knock off the projected top dogs in the conference?

12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET: #17 Florida Gators at #1 LSU Tigers, CBS. Florida got smoked by Alabama last week, and now could be going into Baton Rouge with two battered quarterbacks.

12:30 PM PT/3:30 PM ET: Kansas Jayhawks at #6 Oklahoma St. Cowboys, TV TBA. Pretty sure there are even odds that Kansas scores as many points the entire game as Okie State puts up in the first quarter.

4 PM PT/7 PM ET: Vanderbilt Commodores at #2 Alabama Crimson Tide, ESPNU. This would be the upset of the year right here. So don't hold your breath.

Trending Discussions

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior users will need to choose a permanent username, along with a new password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

I already have a Vox Media account!

Verify Vox Media account

Please login to your Vox Media account. This account will be linked to your previously existing Eater account.

Please choose a new SB Nation username and password

As part of the new SB Nation launch, prior MT authors will need to choose a new username and password.

Your username will be used to login to SB Nation going forward.

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SB Nation Bay Area

You must be a member of SB Nation Bay Area to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Bay Area. You should read them.

Join SB Nation Bay Area

You must be a member of SB Nation Bay Area to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Bay Area. You should read them.

Spinner.vc97ec6e

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.