2011 NIT Basketball Tournament Quarterfinals Schedule & Picks

Let's take a quick look at NIT quarterfinal action. The winners of these games go onto the semifinals at Madison Square Garden next Monday. All the games are probably  televised on ESPN2 and can be seen online at ESPN3.com.

Tuesday, March 22

Kent St. Golden Flashes at Colorado Buffaloes, 6 PM PT/9 PM ET

Pick: Colorado. Kent State's strong three point shooting defense should keep them in the game with Colorado's efficient offense, but Colorado should be able to gain extra possessions by using their size to take advantage of Kent State's poor rebounding. Plus they're at home, and it's not easy playing in Boulder.

Wednesday, March 23

Charleston Cougars at Wichita St. Shockers 4 PM PT/7 PM ET

Pick: Wichita State. Charleston is an awful rebounding team, and their defense is merely average. That won't be enough against a fairly solid Shocker squad that is good all-around.


Miami Hurricanes at Alabama Crimson Tide, 6 PM PT/9 PM ET

Pick: Alabama. The Tide aren't a great offensive team, but their defense should be enough to shut down Miami at home to move them to the Final Four...of the NIT.


Northwestern Wildcats at Washington St. Cougars, 8 PM PT/11 PM ET

Pick: Wazzu. Homecourt should make all the difference for the more balanced Cougars, who should be able to pick apart a horrible Northwestern defense while holding their own elsewhere.

Trending Discussions

X
Log In Sign Up

forgot?
Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

Join SB Nation Bay Area

You must be a member of SB Nation Bay Area to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Bay Area. You should read them.

Join SB Nation Bay Area

You must be a member of SB Nation Bay Area to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Bay Area. You should read them.

Spinner

Authenticating

Great!

Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.