2012 Indy 500 Starting Grid: Ryan Briscoe Sits In Pole Position In 2012 Starting Grid

The 2012 Indianapolis 500 takes place on Sunday, and the Indy 500 starting grid is all set. Ryan Briscoe of Team Penske is in the pole position with a qualifying lap time of 226.484mph. Bay Area representative J.R. Hildebrande is in 18th position. The complete starting grid is below, and a picture-heavy layout with complete lap times can be found here.

Starting Position - Team - 4 Lap Average Qualifying Time

1. Ryan Briscoe, Team Penske -- 226.484 mph
2. James Hinchcliffe, Andretti Autosport -- 226.481 mph
3. Ryan Hunter-Reay, Andretti Autosport -- 225.722 mph
4. Marco Andretti, Andretti Autosport -- 225.456 mph
5. Will Power, Team Penske -- 225.422 mph
6. Helio Castroneves, Team Penske -- 225.172 mph
7. Josef Newgarden, Sarah Fisher Hartman -- 224.037 mph
8. Tony Kanaan, KV Racing Technology -- 224.751 mph
9. E.J. Viso, KV Racing Technology -- 224.422 mph
10. Rubens Barrichello, KV Racing Technology -- 224.264 mph
11. Alex Tagliani, Bryan Herta Autosport -- 224.000 mph
12. Graham Rahal, Chip Ganassi Racing -- 223.959 mph
13. Ana Beatriz Andretti Autosport -- 223.920 mph
14. Charlie Kimball, Chip Ganassi Racing -- 223.868 mph
15. Scott Dixon, Target Chip Ganassi -- 223.684 mph
16. Dario Franchitti, Target Chip Ganassi -- 223.582 mph
17. James Jakes, Dale Coyne Racing -- 223.482 mph
18. JR Hildebrand, Panther Racing -- 223.422 mph
19. Takuma Sato, Rahal Letterman Lanigan -- 223.392 mph
20. Townsend Bell, Schmidt Hamilton Racing -- 223.134 mph
21. Justin Wilson, Dale Coyne Racing -- 222.929 mph
22. Michel Jourdain Jr., Rahal Letterman Lanigan -- 222.893 mph
23. Simon Pagenaud, Schmidt Hamilton Racing -- 222.891 mph
24. Sebastien Saavedra, Andretti Autosport -- 222.811 mph
25. Sebastian Bourdais, Dragon Racing -- 223.760 mph
26. Wade Cunningham, A.J. Foyt Racing -- 223.258 mph
27. Oriol Servia, Panther DRR Racing -- 222.393 mph
28. Ed Carpenter, Ed Carpenter Racing -- 222.324 mph
29. Mike Conway, A.J. Foyt Racing -- 222.319 mph
30. Katherine Legge, Dragon Racing -- 221.624 mph
31. Bryan Clauson, Sarah Fisher Hartman -- 214.455 mph
32. Simona de Silvestro, HVM Racing -- 214.393 mph
33. Jean Alesi, Fan Force United -- 210.094 mph

SB Nation Bay Area will continue to bring you updates, results and more from the 2012 Indy 500. SB Nation's indy car blog Pop Off Valve is your source for full time racing news and analysis.

Check out the SB Nation Channel on YouTube

Trending Discussions

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join SB Nation Bay Area

You must be a member of SB Nation Bay Area to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Bay Area. You should read them.

Join SB Nation Bay Area

You must be a member of SB Nation Bay Area to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at SB Nation Bay Area. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.